Alborosie – Freedom & Fyah

Alborosie Freedom Fyah

Alborosie presents his new studio album Freedom & Fyah

The reggae singer, producer & multi-instrumentalist, Alborosie presents his new studio album ‘Freedom & Fyah’ out 20 May 2016 on Greensleeves Records Reggae music is no longer confined by race, skin colour or nationality. It always did have a global message, but the culture that it represents has now extended way beyond Jamaica. Alborosie’s success is symbolic of this new spirit sweeping the reggae world. The Sicilian born artist, who has spent over a decade living in Jamaica, delivers revolutionary songs with deep, heavy roots rhythms that have become his trademark.

He is the complete package – a festival headliner who’s written, played and produced a succession of bestselling albums since his 2008 debut ‘Soul Pirate’, and now this latest set ‘Freedom & Fyah’.

Alborosie explains that the new album has “a very strong dub influence, and with signs of dubstep and electronic music in some of the tracks.” Lyrically, he covers similar topics including love, revenge, politics and social commentary. Freedom & Fyah delivers un-compromising Rasta lyrics, on blazing roots tunes ‘Can’t Cool’, ‘Judgement’ and ‘Cry’ which derides the gunmen who’ve turned Kingston’s inner city communities into killing fields.

Alborosie has major guest features on the album including Jamaica reggae star Protoje on ‘Strolling’ and Ky-Mani Marley on the love song ‘Life To Me’. He also introduces rising artists like Sandy Smith on ‘Carry On’ and Sugus (former back up vocalist for Dennis Brown and Gregory Isaacs) on ‘Zion Youth’ and the Reggae/EDM-influenced weed anthem ‘Fly 420.’

On Sunday 2 April 2016 David Rodigan previewed the track ‘Caan Cool’ as a worldwide premier on BBC 1xtra.

Alborosie’s track ‘Fly 420’ ft Sugus will be available on 15 April 2016 as the first track on ‘Reggae Dubs & Dabs’, a seven track EP of uplifting ganja tunes to be released on VP’s Dub Rockers Imprint in time for the 4/20 celebrations.

Alborosie – Freedom & Fyah – Track Listing
01. Alborosie ft. Rev. Rohan Treleven – The Prophecy
02. Alborosie – Can’t Cool
03. Alborosie ft. Sugus – Fly 420
04. Alborosie – Cry
05. Alborosie ft. Protoje – Strolling
06. Alborosie – Rocky Road
07. Alborosie – Poser
08. Alborosie – Judgement
09. Alborosie ft. Ky-mani Marley – Life To Me
10. Alborosie – Rich
11. Alborosie ft. Sandy Smith – Carry On
12. Alborosie (Roots Radics DJ Appearance By Pupa Avril)- Everything
13. Alborosie ft. Sugus – Zion Youth