Caribbean Languages

Caribbean Languages and Dialects

Historically the Caribbean region has had cultural influences from Europe to Africa, and the range of languages reflect this diversity. Most languages spoken in the Caribbean are either European (English, Spanish, French and Dutch) or European language-based creoles.

Officially there are six languages spoken in throughout Caribbean.

English is the official language of Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, Saba, St. Eustatius, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands.

Spanish is the official language of Cuba, Dominican Republic, and Puerto Rico

French is the official language of Guadeloupe, Haiti, Martinique, St. Barthelemy and St. Martin

Dutch is the official language of Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St. Eustatius and St. Maarten

Haitian Creole is the official language of Haiti.

Papiamento is a Portuguese and Spanish-based Creole language, and the official language of Aruba, Curacao and Bonaire.

There are also various of creole dialects and local patois, including Jamaican Patois.